when one door is locked…

I spent most of the day on Saturday incredibly frustrated.

I woke up early in the morning in order to head over to St Luke’s, to assess the operating rooms, and to perform inventory and collect supplies.  I remember the limited resources that were available in the surgery suite when I was here in January, and I wanted to see what remained in place.  I arrived just outside the surgery center only to find that the door was locked.  The hospital administrator nor the surgical coordinator could be found.  The day was not starting off well already.  Strike #1.

I started to walk back to Villa Francesca – thankfully it was still early in the morning so it wasn’t very hot outside yet – when I ran into Conan, one of the main people in charge of NPFS.  He called the surgical coordinator and the hospital administrator and got the surgical suite unlocked.  I was pleased that things seemed fairly organized but it was obvious we would need to go to the storage depot and get many more supplies.

The storage depot was unfortunately another dead end, locked door.  The guy that was supposed to be working at the depot had taken the key home with him.  He also was clearly not at work since the depot was locked.  No one knew when he would arrive since he was already supposed to be there.  Access to the storage depot denied. Strike #2.

There weren’t many patients in the triage line at the hospital and none in the Emergency Department – strange considering my experience in January with very long triage lines – perhaps it was just because it was Saturday.  For the first time (but definitely not the last time), I felt useless in Haiti.  I came here to help after all; they knew I was coming, yet I couldn’t gather supplies.  I could not catalogue the entire surgical suit by myself.  I went back to Villa Francesca feeling incredibly defeated.  It’s incredibly frustrating to be a medical provider in a country with such great need and yet not be able to help.

Haiti:2 – Ginger: 0

About justgngr

the ramblings of a medical professional by day, judgmental ginger by night
This entry was posted in Haiti, medicine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

