overread

So I just started reading the book Beyond Queer by Bruce Bawer, which thus far is incredibly more interesting than Proof of Heaven by Dr. Eben Alexander, when I came across this little passage.  And it made me laugh, especially when I think about how Kathy Griffin often says she “speaks fluent gay”, so now I’m sharing it with you.

When gays speak about themselves, they are speaking one language; when most straight people speak about gays, they are speaking another.  Most heterosexuals look at gay lives the way I look at a page of German.  I may be able to pick out a few familiar words, but I feel awkward when I use them, and if I try to put together a sentence I’m likely to find myself saying something I don’t mean at all, perhaps even something offensive or hurtful.

About justgngr

the ramblings of a medical professional by day, judgmental ginger by night
This entry was posted in books, funny sayings, LGBT and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to overread

  1. Jason says:

    This of course makes most gay people bilingual since we usually grew up in straight culture.

Leave a Reply

