favorite and worst Christmas songs?

A friend of mine posted on Facebook the other day asking what song people thought was the most annoying Christmas/holiday song.  There were definitely some good responses although some people put down the song they find the most depressing around the holidays rather than the most annoying.  I had one very clear vote…

Christmas is 11 days away after all (holy crap, seriously!?)  So here goes… which song is your favorite Christmas song?  If you come from a religious tradition – is there a religious Christmas song you really like in addition to secular ones?  And which Christmas song makes you want to claw your eyes out?

My favorite religious Christmas songs:
  • O Come, O Come Emanuel (technically an Advent song… I know)
  • Oh Come All Ye Faithful (Celine Dion version)
  • Oh Little Town of Bethlehem (Amy Grant version)
  • O Holy Night (Jewel does a really good version as does the Cast of Glee)
  • Silent Night (there are numerous artists who do this song justice, and instrumental versions tend to be beautiful as well)
My favorite secular Christmas songs:
  • Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Christina Aguilera version – I wont be judged!)
  • Baby, It’s Cold Outside
  • Cold December Night
Most annoying Christmas song:
  • Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer

About justgngr

the ramblings of a medical professional by day, judgmental ginger by night
This entry was posted in annoying, emotional, inspirational, music, seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to favorite and worst Christmas songs?

  1. Bob Slatten says:

    My favorite religious Christmas songs:
    O Holy Night …. and this from a fairly non-religious person.

    My favorite secular Christmas song:
    Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas if sung by Judy, and only Judy

    Most annoying Christmas song:
    Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer …. ack!

  2. Kathleen says:

    I am pretty much 100% in agreement with you. :)

  3. BearTalks says:

    My favorite one is probably kitschy and trivial, but I really like it for some reason:
    Mariah Carey – “All I Want For Christmas Is You”
    Most annoying Christmas song: most of them :D

  4. Brian says:

    Celine’s “These are special times” and Mariah’s Christmas albums are pretty much on repeat for me during Christmas. I love Kelly Clarkson’s “My grown up Christmas List”… as for annoying – I’m with you on “Grandma got run over” and also “Dominick the Donkey” gets OLD REALLY REALLY fast.

  5. Brian says:

    OH – and always “White Christmas” by Bing – it’s a true classic.

  6. Lucy Lunt says:

    Hi, I’m a producer for BBC Radio 4 , we make a series that looks at those pieces of music that never fail to move us.


    I’m making an edition to be broadcast on Christmas Eve about Have Yourself A Merry little Christmas, which many of you seem to like. Do you have a particular memory or story associated with the song that you might like to tell me about?
    I’d love to hear from you if you have. Please contact me at
    Many thanks and best wishes

Leave a Reply

