wait… what do you do again?

Ever feel like no one else understands your job?  I will fully admit that when people tell me they are in “consulting” or “marketing”, I often have no idea what they are talking about.  If your job title doesn’t actually explain what you do – for example, teacher or lawyer – then I’m pretty much in the dark.

The feeling that other people have no idea what you do for a living stings a little bit more when the person who is clueless is one of your parents.  My job is fairly easy for my mother to grasp (surgeon), but I’m guessing she gets a little confused when it comes to what my two sisters do.  But don’t worry if mom or dad doesn’t understand your job title… you’re not alone.

35% of parents don’t understand what their adult child does for a living.

Yup… let that one sink in for a minute.  So if mom or dad does understand your job… consider yourself lucky.  And if not, don’t sweat it.

About justgngr

the ramblings of a medical professional by day, judgmental ginger by night
This entry was posted in work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to wait… what do you do again?

  1. BosGuy Blog says:

    I totally buy that stat. I was one of those kids and it wasn’t until I graduated from college and started working that I understood what my Dad did. Prior to that I said he wore a suit and worked in business.

  2. Jared says:

    I’m surprised the stat is that low.

Leave a Reply

