Tags

I’m going to be doing a lot of traveling in the next few months for fellowship interviews, having flown to Charleston this past weekend.  While waiting at Logan Airport for my flight to take off, one of the segments airing on CNN was about people who are afraid of flying and how some people have “flight rituals”.

I thought about it a little more and realized that I do actually have a few airport rituals.  I definitely have an airport food ritual.  For one, early morning flights are always accompanied by a grande coffee from Starbucks (never Dunkin) while afternoon flights usually require a diet coke and medium fry from McDonalds (one of the few times I allow myself to visit this fast food obesity corporation).

My only inflight ritual is that no matter what I’m doing before take-off (listening to music, reading a book), I immediately cease doing whatever that was and look out the window of the plane during take-off.  Paying attention to the safety instructions?  Not a chance…

Do any of you out there have airport or travel rituals that you want to confess to?  No?  Oh… well then.

