So then this happened…

I’m not normally one to get into a Twitter war with people, but I am all about defending my views. So when I read this tweet (which a follower retweeted) post DOMA decision, I couldnt help myself.

gay marriage equality shoved in face tweetI’m sorry that your life is ruined because marriage equality is being shoved in your face.  I’m sure all the LGBT folks out there who constantly have heteronormative culture shoved in their face love knowing that until yesterday they were considered second class citizens.  Which I’m pretty sure is what I tweeted back yesterday.

Naturally it took her a day to respond back, at which point she told me that the Bible says so.  We then traded jabs about scripture from the Bible, during which I was told that the Old Testament doesn’t matter and that modern Christians are taught to follow the New Testament because Jesus “came back and fixed it”.  So apparently we’re just throwing out the Old Testament entirely, although she then countered with the age old god “would have made Adam and Steve” argument – which correct me if I’m wrong is from the Old Testament…

For the record, just because I support marriage equality, doesn’t mean I need a lesson on what’s written in the Bible.  I was raised Catholic – I know what’s written in the “Good Book”.

About justgngr

the ramblings of a medical professional by day, judgmental ginger by night
This entry was posted in annoying, books, LGBT and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So then this happened…

  1. Haters are gonna hate. I wonder if any of them ever think anyone gets tired of having their religion “shoved in my face”.

    • justgngr says:

      a point I didn’t make but wish I had. Not that it would have mattered. She also neglected that part about not judging others, so if she can pick and choose from the Bible, so can I.

  2. caitlinstern says:

    You can’t win an argument with anyone who’s emotionally invested in being right. And there are few people more invested in their righteousness than people who would have to accept that they are filled with fear and hate if proved wrong. :/

    • justgngr says:

      which is why I normally don’t engage. It was the “always shoved in my face” part that set me off.

      • caitlinstern says:

        Yes, how dare people continue to ask for the equality they’ve been denied until they get it?

        She must have a small and scary world inside her head… which is a bit sad.

  3. thewanderer says:

    I like this. I realize that a lot of people are trolling and saying incendiary things in order to get a response in the digital sphere but it also seems important to not let statements like that go unchallenged. It’s not necessarily about changing the views of the original poster–it’s about making it clear that while prejudice will always exist, so will individuals willing to fight it.

Leave a Reply

