Tags

I quickly want to thank everyone who has been following my trip to Haiti on Facebook, Twitter, and here on the blog.  Your comments have been both touching and inspiring, so thank you very much for your kind words.

I haven’t been able to blog as much this trip as I would have liked.  The 12-hr days in the operating room have been long and tiring.  After quickly getting food and a beer or two, bed time rapidly approaches – especially when you are waking up at 6am.

I’m heading to Toussaint L’Ouverture airport shortly to begin the trek back to Boston, but I have a few more Haiti posts tucked in the recesses of my mind to share with you.  This trip has been extremely productive and holds great promise for future surgical trips to Haiti.

In the meantime, I highly encourage you to visit the St Luke’s Foundation for Haiti page as well as the METI Project homepage to get a better sense of what these two fantastic organizations are doing here in the Tabarre neighborhood of Port-au-Prince.  If you have access to hospital/medical supplies or work in purchasing or central supply for a hospital or medical practice, I highly encourage (read: begging) you to contact me to see how we can get desperately needed supplies to Haiti.  Even though the earthquake was 3.5 years ago – the need is still here.

