Tags

This post is a little late for Mother’s Day but since my mom is flying into town tomorrow in order to watch me graduate with a Masters in Public Health, I figured it was still appropriate.

I am currently baking red velvet cupcakes.  Why you ask?  Because I’m going to a graduation reception/party Saturday afternoon following the graduation ceremony.  And clearly, I have to bring something.  I blame my mother.

You see, we all grow up learning little pearls from our parents, but I contend that our mother’s influence on our social graces far exceeds that of our fathers.  For example, my mother always said you can’t show up empty handed to a party that you were invited to.  Hence I’m baking cupcakes.  Could I have made something easier?  Sure, but it just so happens that the Boston University colors are red and white.  (Don’t judge me.  I can feel you judging.)

I don’t think my mother was forced to read Emily Post when she was growing up, but there are many other habits I have because of my mom.  For example, I always return the shopping cart (it happens to be one of my biggest pet peeves when people don’t – and yes, my mother’s biggest pet peeve too).  I always rinse dishes before they go into the dishwasher.  Many of my food and product purchases are from my mom; choosy moms choose JIF and so does this ginger, and Downy is the only acceptable fabric softener.

For better or for worse, she is the voice within my head.  And I suspect I’m not alone.  What social graces and habits have you picked up from your mothers?

