Tags

so… I ran my first 5k on Sunday.  Some people would call this my first “competitive” run.  I use quotation marks because quite frankly… I have a lot of friends who run MUCH farther distances.  Such as marathons, half marathons, 10k, etc.  So my 5k seems to pale in comparison – THOSE seem like real competitive runs to me.

In any case, I’m very happy with how I did @ a 9:10 pace, ran under 30 minutes.  First a first time, not too shabby.  More importantly, I’m just proud that I actually completed the whole thing.  I have never been a “runner” and I dont really aspire to run distances much greater.  Again, I use quotation marks because to me, runners are people who do MUCH farther distances.  Runners are also people who actually enjoy running.  I dont really enjoy running (check out my workout post a few back) but rather do it for the cardio.

So it begs the question.  For those of you out there who are runners – do you remember your first competitive run?  How long was it, how did you do, and how did you feel when it was over?

